“Piyutim” are poems.

It often refers to the poems written as additions to the siddur/machzor/prayer service in the Middle Ages.

Today, inspired by participation in Hasidic, Buddhist, Yogic or other spiritual practices, there is a mild resurgence of inspired poetry among a generation of Jewish men and women previously uninvolved with Jewish life.

Below are three current examples.

I. “What is Before the Beginning?”
(Steve Sufian; 10/1/12;
https://stevesufian108.wordpress.com/category/steves-poems-joy-is-love/page/4/)

I feel it is this way:
Oneness is lively, God is lively.
The liveliness is variation, a rising and falling of wholeness within itself,
An ocean waving, greeting itself.
When any wave starts to rise, that is a beginning.
Infinite waves, infinite cheeriness, infinite beginnings that are rooted in endings,
Both the play of the never-beginning, never-ending Oneness That We Are.
Hello, my brothers and sisters, my world family,
Let us remember, let us act so as to make it easier to remember.

(Steve Sufian is an educator and long-time teacher of Transcendental Meditation)

II. Although We Witness What God Does
(received from Lloyd Bloom via email; 3/19/15)

Although we witness what God does
God isn’t what we see
For that would be too much for us—
Behold, infinity

But only through particulars
Consider this or that:
Invisible remains the source
Of what we’re looking at.

(Lloyd Bloom is a renowned artist and book illustrator, who connected with Habad/Lubavitch Hasidut over 30 years ago.)

III. Prayer Like Incense
by Eli Mallon (2003)

Lord,
my prayer
rises before You
like incense;
tree-top
morning mist;
heaven-reaching,
full of light.

And when I pray
I hear You say
in a way
most kind
and loving,
“I know, I know.”

G-d
is too wonderful
for words,
yes.
Yet,
my words of love
for G-d,
are gifts
from G-d
for me
to share.