Once, a boy walked down a country road.

Between two fingers, he held a feather that he’d found. He liked to look at it and imagine all the things he could do with it.

As he walked, he met an old neighbor, who was carrying two heavy bags.

The boy asked the old man what was in the bags.

The old man said, “Gold coins. If you’ll carry one of the bags, I’ll give you what’s inside it. It’s more gold than I need and it’ll make me happy to give it to you.”

The boy said, “Yes.”

But soon after he took the bag, the boy grew bored.

So he said to the old man, “I’m sorry, but I’d rather look at my feather.”

And he gave the bag of gold coins back to the old man and continued on his way, enjoying the feather and imagining all the things he could do with it.

I read a comment by a writer, who said: To believe that God is good, we’d have to “abandon our rationality completely.”

I thought of all the times when, in prayer, I gave up my idea of what’s right and wrong or good and bad, and accepted that God knows far better than I do. I thought of the relief I felt, of the Presence that I experienced, when I did.

Our rationality is a feather; God’s goodness — a bag of gold coins.

Rationality certainly has its purpose, but when we give up our own sense of “good and bad” and accept God’s goodness, we exchange something of little value for something of incomparable value.